OPS Sites Announce Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

Nov. 18, 2022
School sites in the Owasso Public Schools District announced their 2022-23 Teacher of the Year Award recipients this week, as the district continued its tradition of recognizing excellence in the classroom through the State of Oklahoma Teacher of the Year program.

All certified teachers who have completed the past three consecutive years in the Owasso Public School District may be considered for this honor. Each Teacher of the Year nominee is selected by their peers to represent their building at the district level. One of the 15 site winners will be selected as the OPS Teacher of the Year by a district peer committee based on a self-submitted portfolio, as well as a live presentation with each candidate.

The honor will be presented at the annual Owasso Public Schools Teacher of the Year reception, which will be held on March 23 at the Mary Glass Performing Arts Center.

This year’s Teacher of the Year Award recipients are:

Ator Elementary — Mrs. Glynda Loffer (Special Education)
Bailey Elementary — Mrs. Amber Hatch (Kindergarten)
Barnes Elementary — Ms. Taffy Clark (2nd Grade)
Hodson Elementary — Mrs. Kylie Easterwood (3rd Grade)
Mills Elementary — Miss Sydney Gerlach (5th Grade English Language Arts)
Morrow Elementary — Mrs. Rachel Hahn (Music)
Northeast Elementary — Mrs. Jessica Drummond (Speech Pathologist)
Smith Elementary — Mrs. Joni McCloskey (Technology)
Stone Canyon Elementary — Mrs. Hilary Morsey (3rd Grade)
6th Grade Center — Mrs. Christy Wendel (Math)
7th Grade Center — Mrs. Ashley Hopper (Library Media Specialist)
8th Grade Center — Mrs. Marlo Roddy (Social Studies)
Ram Academy — Mrs. Kari Huff (English Language Arts)
High School - West Campus — Mr. Shane Ridenour (World History)
High School - East Campus — Mrs. Stephani Barger (Special Education)

# # #